Daily Archives: 19 Jun 2011

A Gayer World

The United Nations finally passed a resolution affirming the rights of gays, lesbians, bisexuals, and transgendered peoples on 17 June 2011:  <http://www.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/europe/06/17/un.lgbt.rights/index.html>. With this action, a report, due by December 2011, will document laws and discriminations against people of other sexual orientations and gender identities. Continue reading

One year later: the loneliest father’s day

A year after his passing, this is the first father’s day I can pay my dad the respect I should have given him last year. I was sleeping on a floor full of dust mites, with no money or friends, and being abused by someone who pretended to be my friend. The difficulty of giving my father the respect he deserved on this day came from me being too bitter, blaming him for leaving me with nothing, and for getting me into the situation I was in. Coupled with denial that I had lost him and how I still didn’t really feel like I had lost him yet, I just didn’t know what was going on in my head and heart. Continue reading