Johnny C is lazier than you: how I save money and time with my food and diet

Recently, I acquired a Vita-Mix Vita Prep 3 blender and Excalibur 3900 dehydrator, which are essential kitchen items for all raw vegans, the lazy, the cheap and broke, and the hungry.

My Excalibur 3900 Dehydrator and Vita-Mix Vita Prep 3 Blender!

Yep: I’ve discovered a way to save more money and time. It involves creating a budget, a meal plan menu, a grocery list, and four variations for each week in a month.

So in Microsoft Excel, I made a horizontal list meals, and a vertical list of items. What I looked for were simple recipes for the blender to make soups like borscht, and made at least five or six meals each week, plus two variations of breakfast smoothies, which were either bananas and blueberries, or goji berries and raw cacao beans.

A sample menu

In doing this, I have in the right hand corner which is a sum of all the ingredients I need every week, and when I total it and head over to Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods every week, I spend a set amount on meals every week, not including protein supplements and other essentials.

The recipes, which I got from various places like Google searches, recipe books, or random blogs I stumble upon, are easy to prepare. I spend no more than ten minutes daily preparing the meals and have something that is cheap, easy to prepare and clean, healthy, and tasty. If there are any leftovers at the end of the week, I stick them in the dehydrator and bam: I have a surplus of food for later on that can be preserved indefinitely.

Who says being lazy will never get anyone anywhere? Being lazy is helping me lose weight, save money, eat healthy, and not waste time!

Sure, the initial cost of the dehydrator and blender is pretty high, but here’s where I win again: I accumulated points from my Amazon Visa credit card and exchanged them to bring down the cost significantly. When you’re cheap, lazy, and hungry, you will find your way. 😉 Perfect for giving me more time to study!

Future items I will get once I earn some money are the Cuisanrt 14-cup stainless steel food processor and a KPE1304 twin-gear juicer by Green Power to make wheatgrass shots! Yes, the initial start-up cost for a good raw vegan kitchen is expensive, but in the long run, you do save a lot of money.

Other items I recommend are an electric hot water boiler and the obligatory rice cooker, and if you love tea like I do, a couple tea pots! I love being a slacker. 😉

Here’s a couple dishes I’ve made the past couple days to demonstrate the power of raw vegan un-cooking and a Vita-Prep 3 blender!

Thai soup garnished with dried kale chips and shiitake mushrooms!

Borscht with avocados and apples garnish!

2 responses to “Johnny C is lazier than you: how I save money and time with my food and diet

  1. great job with your vitamix!!!

  2. Thank you for your praise, Lynn! And thanks for being an inspiration too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

