A series of sudden realizations

The following is a little reflection I came up with that I share because it helped me before, and since it has been proven to help others around me in recent times going through self-rejection, depression, and pain. I’m not feeling bad right now because I think with the support I have, I feel pretty good about myself. To that end, whenever anyone rejects themselves or feels unloved, I think that these words, or something like these, should be shared with them to allow them to consider their self-worth more.
Every day, I used to feel unhappy about being short, fat, ugly, and stupid. When my friends would tell me I’m not, I thought they were just trying to make me feel better. Then I realized that whether or not they were sincere–they wanted me to feel better.
Then I thought about it, and realized that by rejecting their encouragement, it hurts them because I was dismissing their love for me and rejecting them.
When I tried to accept it, I realized that by opening up to the possibility of what they might value in me that I don’t, I open myself up to the possibility that I’m not as worthless as I think I am. In opening up to these possibilities, it eventually helps me allow myself to appreciate what others see.
Then finally, I realized: I have friends who care about me no matter how worthless I think I am.
4 responses to “A series of sudden realizations

  1. Actually i think you are quite cute! and your writing is fantastic. just thought I should share that with you πŸ™‚ Keep up the great work here

  2. Why thank you so much! Actually, I woke up to your comment and realized I should clarify my post so that people will understand it’s meant to be quotable, not reflective of how I’m feeling right now. πŸ™‚ Thank you for following my blog!

  3. Kudos buddy. That’s exactly right. Remember: You are awesome! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

