Waking up the right way

Some days when I wake up, I don’t want to get out of bed and end up turning off my alarm until I realize that it’s noon and I’ve wasted a whole day. Eventually, I realized that the way I start my day can seriously affect how the rest of it goes. What starts out crappy can continue being crappy, or something can happen to make it better. Or, it can start out great and then it can fail mid-way, or start out good and get better ย as the day goes.

My experiment was to control the variables of my intake to affect my output at the earliest possible, which in this case was my attitude and my food. In an earlier post, I mentioned how I woke up using one of my magic words, “fabulous” to reinforce the idea I’m fabulous and have a positive self-image contributing to greater self-love and self-respect. Here I’m turning up the heat with the right food, right ideas, and a little physical exertion.

To start, my morning wake-up has become ritualized, so that it follows a pattern that becomes second nature, detailed as follows:

Wake up and immediately drink two glasses of water and eat a banana, to kickstart my metabolism and get all the junk out of my system (literally!).

Eat some raw cacao beans, at least 5 of them, because raw cacao contains serotonin, which is the chemical released that makes you happy and excited.

I play some inspiring music, which as of late has been 1980s theme songs, glam rock, and progressive rock. In particular, this song by Stan Bush because of its lyrics and uppity melody:

Then I do about 15 pushups and 25 squats, and if I’m really feeling I need more inspiration I watch parkour videos and remind myself that this is what I’m waking up for and training to do:

I hop into the shower and continue playing the music I need to keep the feeling going, and have the same playlist in my iPod to hear for when I’m walking out the door. Those songs include “Rockin’ Like a Hurricane” by Scorpions, “Highway to the Danger Zone” by Kenny Loggins, the earlier posted video “You Got the Touch” by Stan Bush, “Tarzan Boy” by Baltimora, “Fight For Your Right” by the Beastie Boys, “Final Countdown” by Europe, and “Jump” by Van Halen to give you a sampling of my 1980s mix. Throw in a late 90s song to top it off and play when I first step out the door, Bon Jovi’s “It’s My Life” and I am ready to rock the world.

Before getting ahead of myself too much though, after I shower, I make sure to dress up like I’m going to meet the most amazing girl in the world (Ellen Wong) and I have one shot at making a good impression. Looking in the mirror with my faux hawk shaped and teeth shining and smooth makes me think I can give any girl a winning, genuine smile that would make her want to get a little up close and personal. ๐Ÿ˜‰

When I step out the door, I raise my fist up high and say “The world is mine!” then run and jump out to get a literal running start for the day.

That’s my morning wake-up. What has it done? I have exposed myself to physical exertion, good food, happy music, and an image to aspire to with traceurs and a hip young look to go with it. Does that make me happy? No: it makes me excited and ready to take on the world. I wake up everyday knowing I can and will rock the planet. I’m gonna save the world, get the girl (Ellen Wong), and come home in time for supper. Lastly, I also make this look good. ๐Ÿ˜€

One response to “Waking up the right way

  1. Good stuff broski! I’m glad to hear that. As soon as I’m done with school I plan to jumpstart my mornings too

Leave a Reply

