We live in bubbles

We all live in bubbles. It’s a fact of reality. As much as we’d like to think that we don’t live in a bubble, sometimes the truth is, we just think our bubble is bigger than other people’s bubbles. And as they see us, we’re in our own bubble, and they see “reality and the world as it really is” because of the little bit of self-importance that we all have.

Living in a bubble has a lot of negative connotations to it: some people see it as blinding yourself to reality, whether it’s by ignorance or by choice; other people see it as a mark of stupidity. Granted, it’s because of the assumptions people have when they perceive someone or some people to be in a bubble: usually it’s someone who is stuck in the same routine,  stubborn with how he or she understands things and refusing to see outside of that narrow perspective, and being with the same people all the time who reinforce that.

Some examples of bubbles include cults, which are the biggest example of the negative extreme of bubbles; groups or cliques, like in high school and college because of peer pressure or clinging to one group like a fraternity for security; then there’s the bubble of place, like the limited mindset of someone in his neighborhood, city, state, or country and refusing to see outside of those bubbles within bubbles; then there’s the bubble of self, which usually is someone with such an inflated sense of self-importance that nobody can penetrate that bubble, and at times, this kind of bubble is surrounded by yes men who reinforce that self-importance.

I, on the other hand, have a different way of seeing and understanding bubbles–particularly how bubbles can be good. Specifically, I see bubbles as a way of SHAPING YOUR OWN REALITY. The important part to understand is that you can’t deny you live in a bubble. The next part is to know that if you live in a bubble, it had better be one that you create. If you let your Bible-humping neighborhood priest tell you how you should or shouldn’t be; your parents, boyfriend or girlfriend decide what’s best for you; or random strangers determining your self-worth, to hell with that.

This is how I shape my own reality: I listen to music that makes me feel good and uppity instead of whining about how horrible life is; I spend time with awesome people who are ambitious, educated, encouraging, understanding, and positive instead of whiners who complain about how life sucks; I tell myself I’m fabulous instead of wondering why I suck when I am unable to do as well as I think I should; and I keep a clean room that creates and reinforces the idea I’m organized and tidy, instead of a messy room that makes me feel like I’m messed up.

When you shape your own reality, your life changes and the people around you change. You start bringing in more of those awesome people you look for. Never let anyone shape your reality. Be with the people you want to be like, be the change you seek.

2 responses to “We live in bubbles

  1. Great post. I am curious how you came to such a revelation and decided to write about it?
    I myself was just thinking about someone I know and the nice little bubble she lives in. Then I realized that I also live in a bubble, and pondered that for a while before doing a Google search for “the bubbles we live in”. You are second from the top.

  2. Hi Wil, I had this revelation when I realized that there is no way to get outside of our bubbles, no matter how hard we try–the best we can do is expand our bubbles. For me, I do this by trying new things and activities, and finding the right people in all the groups I encounter. Sometimes, this means jumping from one group bubble to another, but if you can find one person or thing that you enjoy out of it, then you’ve expanded your world. Thanks for your comment, I’m glad someone was able to enjoy some of my insight!

Leave a Reply

